The Hotel Portmeirion opened in 1926 as the focal point of Clough Williams-Ellis’ proposed idea village. Artists, writers and Albanian royalty have stayed here not to mention various politicians, tycoons and other swindlers, however everyone is special at Portmeirion and all are welcome.
The main building of the hotel was built around 1850 (extended by Clough Williams-Ellis in 1926 & 1930) and first described by Richard Richards in 1861 as “one of the most picturesque of all the summer residences to be found on the sea-coast of Wales.”
- Minffordd, Porthmadog. LL48 6ER