Portmeirion

The Lighthouse at Portmeirion

Portmeirion was created by the architect Clough Williams-Ellis from 1925 to 1976. He wanted to show how a naturally beautiful site could be developed without spoiling it.

Aside from its iconic architecture, scenic surroundings and vast woodland gardens, Portmeirion is home to hip hotels, a huddle of historic cottages, a spa and award winning restaurants. During peak season (Late March to Late October), you can learn more about this unique village with free walking and train tours. Our Visitor Centre is open all year and can help with more information, books and maps.

Portmeirion
Portmeirion

Portmeirion is one of Wales’ premier visitor attractions, welcoming 250,000 visitors every year. With free parking, complimentary guided tours and audio visual show, six cafes and restaurants, half a dozen shops, gardens and beaches it is the perfect day out for all the family. Surrounding the village are 70 acres of exotic woodlands with easy to follow woodland trails and coastal walks. It was designed and built by Sir Clough Williams-Ellis over a period of fifty years from 1925 to 1975. It was built in the style of an Italian village. It served as a location for numerous films and television shows, most famously being “The Village” in the 1960s television show The Prisoner starring Patrick McGoohan. It was also the location for the video of the Supergrass song Alright in 1995.

Portmeirion
Portmeirion

It is open every day of the year from 9.30am to 7.30pm. It is located 4 miles south of Porthmadog near the village of Penrhyndeudraeth on the Dwyryd Estuary.

Read more about Portmeirion at portmeirion-village.com.